挑选多语言插件

因为每个多语言插件对于文章和帖子应以什么样的结构进行归类、每篇文章的元数据应该如何定义有着不同的要求,所以应该在最开始的时候就选定一个合适的插件。如果日后更换插件的话,可能需要对网站的源文件进行大量的改动工作。

挑选多语言插件前,您应该先对您的需求做一个概括,思考一下您想要一个什么样的网站。在我选择多语言插件时,我准备将我网站上页面的内容同时以多种语言提供,就好比一个维基百科页面有多种语言版本,而我想得到的功能就是像维基百科那样,在每个页面上都有每种语言版本的链接,点一下链接就可以切换到另一种语言。同时,有些内容可能只会以一种语言提供,此时我的网站最好就不要显示切换到别的语言的链接,或者在切换后显示一个提示,称该页面没有翻译版本。

Polyglot 就可以很好地满足我的需求。首先,它可以确保同一网站的不同语言版本的站点地图是完全一致的。这样一来,即使在一种语言中,有一篇文章没有翻译版本,Polyglot 也会生成该文章对应的网页,不过网页的内容就是未经翻译、以原样呈现的了。这种情况下,我就可以在页面上显示一条信息,告知浏览者此页面没有翻译。

对于 Polyglot,我唯一不太满意的地方就是它要求给每篇文档(即不是帖子的集合中的文章)都指定一个永久链接;我想直接将每篇文档在我网站源文件中的路径用作永久链接,却还需要给每篇文档手动指定。好在 Jekyll 允许给文章集合设定全局永久链接,可以有效避免给每篇文章都重复指定永久链接的繁琐操作

与此同时,我顺便看了一些其它的多语言插件。Octopress 的多语言插件的概念我感觉很不错,但是很遗憾,该插件自 2015 年起就再没有更新过,而且有很多人称在 Jekyll 3 上用不了这个插件,更别提 Jekyll 4 了。另外一个 Jekyll Multiple Languages 插件 是支持 Jekyll 4 的,但是要用这个插件的话,还得按这里描述的方法,额外维护一份记录所有页面的标题的翻译的文件。本着标题这些文章元数据应该和文章内容一起存储,而非单独抽离到一个文件中的原则,我放弃了使用它的想法。

Choose a Multilingual Plugin

It is better to select the multilingual plugin you want to use before every other thing because each plugin has different philosophy on how your posts should be organized and where the metadata for your posts should be put. If you decide to switch to another plugin later, you might have to move your posts around and/or change front matters of all your pages.

To choose a plugin, have a rough idea on how your site will look like. In my case, my site would definitely have pages offered in multiple languages, and it would be great if visitors can view the page in another language with one click, like on Wikipedia. Some pages, however, would be only available in a single language; in this case, my site should either don’t show links to other languages, which is also similar to Wikipedia, or display a message after visitors click on a language link showing that translation is not provided.

Polyglot serves my purpose well. It ensures that the site map is consistent among all localized versions of the site, so even if a post is not translated to all languages, a webpage for it will be generated for every language. By default, if a translation is not available, then the post will be presented in the site’s default language. What if the post is only available in a non-default language? Polyglot will just use that version for all other languages, including the default one. (However, I haven’t tested which translation will be used if a post is provided in all languages but the default one and the site supports three or more languages.) With this feature, at least I would be able to allow visitors see a message for untranslated posts.

The only thing I don’t like very much about Polyglot is it requires assigning a permalink to each document (i.e. a non-post item inside a collection) in its front matter. I want to use the document’s file path directly as the permalink. Fortunately, this can be achieved by setting up global permalinks for a collection, which greatly reduces redundancy.

I also looked at some other multilingual plugins. The Octopress Multilingual plugin seems to have very good concepts, but it has been not getting any update since 2015, and users have been reporting that it is incompatible with Jekyll 3, not to mention Jekyll 4. The Jekyll Multiple Languages Plugin supports Jekyll 4, but if I were to use it, I would need to maintain a dedicated list of all page titles for a language in a single file, as shown here. I hate separating a page’s metadata from its contents.